New york City Resistors

http://www.nycresistor.com/

you can immediately image they’re cool . Not simply because they’re from Brooklyn – New York.

Not simply because they’re good guys hackers.

Not simply because they’re pro DIY philosophy.

Not simply because they call themself ‘resistors’.

But because they’re all of them PLUS a deep sense of community and the believe that only sharing our knowledge we can improve ourself and the way we live  things.

On one issue I’m really  upset about and is the access to the culture and barriers built up by laziness between “equals”.

I mean what’s makes you different from me? Basically knowledge.

I think that there are  huge holes behind the hacking: false believes, superficial virtues,terminology, accessibility.

I think there are a lot of false believes around the ‘hacking’ ( I talk by myself with the emotions I feel day after day) as the fact that you must be “inclined to” hack. If when you were a kid you did not crash toys to see what there was inside..well ,sorry, you’re not “inclined” to hack and you’ll never be.

..and if when I was a kid I used to colour the wall and the furniture of my home what should I be now? an Interior designer?

This is stupid. Hacking is not something you learn from a day to another, it takes time and is never simple as everything in this world.

it’s a problem of superficial virtues: I’m very good in reading, it’s banal isn’t it? I love books and I like to read challenging books, I can read an entire book in few days, and I’m good in focus my attention on details, still banal, but I would never tell you that ‘Crime and Punishment’ is “too much” for you.

Hacking looks hard cause seems a virtue belonging to few elected but that’s not true. On the contrary a revision of values it’s good to make us more self-confident.

Terminology: if I’m following a tutorial or watching a video on you tube I’m able to understand the 90% of the first 5 minutes and nearly the 30% of all the rest. What I’ve understood? Only the range of words that I can use also in a supermarket. All the rest are empty boxes on a crosswords. The problem about  tutorials is that usually they’re not made for  learning  but they’re perfect for  reproduction.

Hacking needs tutorials illustrated in a simple way, as an explanation to a friend who don’t know anything about circuits and stuff, speak for the ‘equals’=humans. I know it sounds boring but at the end it works.

Then accessibility: the big barrier or in other words the missed opportunity to bite the matter.

Or you are a super natural fan of hacking, so that you’ve spent your childhood and a big part of your adult years locked in your garage and searching on the web for every single website dedicated to your passion with the consequential sadness of your family and  losses of friends- a real self-made man- ..or..nothing! They’re there and you are here, there’s nothing left except the chance to think at yourself once more as a stupid, cause you’ll never get there.

My personal solution in this mess is the “strategy of analogies”, it’s became a part of myself thinking that there’s nothing simple, so, I’ve learned to build analogies with topics that I already know well.

I think this strategy is born from the necessity to  find out an everyday-life-utility for my bachelor in linguistics and semiotics.  All the things in this world are not so different from words (where they’re also represented), what you have to do is analyze them.

I mean analyze them in a different way, deeper, analyze the structure . How are they composed? And why?

If you completely understand the structures, the internal laws that regulate the processes and set positions, then grammatic and lexicon will be easier to learn, cause they’re branches of the structure’s roots.

Semiotics help me from the social point of you: why we feel the desire to do certain things, how and why we need to represent them .

So where is the semiotic hacking?

In this moment I’m asking myself what’s behind the real hacking, and the answer that I see is “demolish barriers”. I know it looks like a topic too big, but it’s so easy to see to me.

We don’t even need to ask to ourselves how it’s worth to make something instead of buy it, or if it’s worth to reassemble something new.

I don’t mind if it’s worth. I mind I can do it!

It’s the concept behind the entire DIY philosophy and hacking is DIY.

I’ve just light on a led in these weeks, but you should see my satisfaction!
In these days I’m feeling “equal”, I’m finally playing with the others, it took times but step by step I’m starting to express myself and I’m practice the language.

In my opinion that ‘s the Arduino’s ‘social power’ . The most democratic Usb in the entire world, if I only think at all the common  stuff that have the Usb as Arduino..telephone, cameras, mouses, i-pods and so on electronic seems less far from me.

I don’t need an interpreter anymore, none to explain what I want, why, and how, cause I’ve the tool to make what I want, playing with my creativity anytime I want, learning by myself with the help of others.

But the DIY is not for Europeans or at least not for Italians, it’s in the American culture of “the self-made man”, not something famous in this country.

We have pyramids  of  authority to climb, and knowledge is something to underline in a textbook, who has it is holding it tight under copyright.

Almost a perfect world, but Arduino is not immune from barriers and explain your ignorance without embarrassments is not easy.

When I’ve read what these guys from Brooklyn were doing I felt like we were on the same tune for all the beautiful approaches they have to sharing knowledge and DIY.

They, Good hackers, are concrete people, they meet each others, they discuss, they organize classes and courses, they have a wiki and I swear if I was  in New York I would already introduced myself, shaking hands and giving hugs.
I’m 24-year-old, 25 in the 2010, I’m italian and I don’t have a Mac.

Ideas for a creative reuse

